Friday, September 6, 2013
Garwood Police Stress Safety as School Year Commences
School is back in session and the Garwood Police Department wants to ensure that safety remains a top priority.
Traffic in and around school zones can create significant hazards for children and teens, as well as Crossing Guards, school officials and volunteers, Police said in a post on their website.
School Zone Safety Tips From Garwood Police:
• Carpool with neighbors or friends to minimize the number of vehicles in the school zone or at the bus stop.
• Review and always follow your school's student drop off plan. That , means obeying all signs (i.e., no parking, stopping or standing) and/or individuals directing traffic, including volunteers.
• Drop your child off on the school side of the street, next to the curb. If that is not possible, park your vehicle legally (never double park) and accompany your child (using a crosswalk or at the corner) across the street to the sidewalk in front of the school.
• Follow the instructions provided by the school Crossing Guards. Remember, they are there to help protect your child.
• Slow down and comply with the posted speed limit, not only in the school zone but where children are walking or biking along the road. Research shows that the neighborhood residents typically drive 10 mph faster than the posted speed in the school zones.
• Resist the urge to "drop off and dash." Pull out slowly and look not only ahead, but along side and behind your vehicle for pedestrians, bicyclists, cars and buses.
• Eliminate all distractions, particularly cell phones and other electronic devices that reduce your ability to react quickly in driving situations involving young children and their spontaneous actions.
• Teach your children to look all ways before crossing and to cross only in the crosswalks or at corners (this is essential at corners that do not have crossing guards posted).
• Make sure that everyone in your vehicle is properly restrained in the appropriate child safety seat or booster seat or seat belt. New Jersey law requires all children under 8 years of age or who weigh less than 80 pounds to ride in a properly installed car or booster seat. All children between 8 and 18 years of age and all adults must wear a seat belt.
This tip sheet is provided courtesy of the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety and may be reproduced and disseminated in hardcopy or electronic format without permission. For more information on pedestrian and motorist safety, visit the Division’s web site at www.njsaferoads.com.